This is the "Home" page of the "Obesity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Obesity  

Resources and information on the topic of obesity.
Last Updated: Jan 6, 2012 URL: http://adu.libguides.com/obesity Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Call Number Areas

WD 210 -- Obesity

WD 212 -- Weight loss

WS 115 -- Childhood obesity

Bold number is more prominent on topic.

 

Keywords

Possible terms to use during research.

Bariatric Surgery

Diet, Reducing

Fat

Obesity

Overweight

Weight loss

Other Helfpul Guides

 

Definition

Obesity means having too much body fat. It is different from being overweight, which means weighing too much. The weight may come from muscle, bone, fat and/or body water. Both terms mean that a person's weight is greater than what's considered healthy for his or her height.

Source: Medline Plus

 

Find Books

Books sources are available via...

1. The Library Catalog which includes:

  •    E-Books
  •    Reference Books
  •    Books that check out.

2. Google Books

3. Databases are including ebooks.

   Ex. Health and Wellness Resource Center includes Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

4. Your local Public Library.

E-Books

A few selected ebook titles.

 

Obesity -- Print Books

Selected titles more in the catalog:

Cover Art
ABC of obesity / edited by Naveed Sattar, Mike Lean.
Call Number: WD 210 .A134 2007
ISBN: 140513674X
Publication Date: 2007


 

Gale Encyclopedia Series -- Medical

Gale eBook Encyclopedia sets are online via Health and Wellness Resource Center database. (covers/ISBNs showing may be previous editions)

Great resources for beginning level information.

Health and Wellness Resource Center
This database also includes other book resources:
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence
Gale Encyclopedia of Diets
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests

Cover Art
Gale Medicine
ISBN: 0787654892

Cover Art
Gale Alternative
ISBN: 1414448724

Cover Art
Gale Cancer
ISBN: 1414403623

Cover Art
Gale Childhood & Adolescence
ISBN: 0810398842

Cover Art
Gale Diets
ISBN: 1414429916

Cover Art
Gale Surgery & Medial Tests
ISBN: 1414448848

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip