This guide list resources for images, pictures, audio and video material. Some is public domain.
Last Updated: Jul 16, 2013
To Locate Images not under copyright restriction.
- To find images that can be reused and remixed use Google's Advanced Image search options.
- To use the usage rights filter option, select "advanced image search" on the main Google Images page.
- Once in the "advanced image search" page, you will find the usage rights options at the bottom of the page.
- In the usage rights menu you can select one of four options; "labeled for reuse," "labeled for commercial reuse," "labeled for reuse with modification," or "labeled for commercial reuse with modification."
What is Creative Commons?
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that works to increase the amount of creativity (cultural, educational, and scientific content) available in “the commons” — the body of work that is available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing, and remixing.
- Galaxy of Images
Images on this site are compiled from resources at Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
You may download low-resolution images directly from the web site for personal, research or study purposes for free.
- Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Prints & Photographs Reading Room
Offered by the Library of Congress.
- Smithsonian Institution -- collections search center
Search over 5.4 million records with 460,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.
- World Images by CSU
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.
- National Archives Experience : Digital Vaults
- Animal Photos
A great source of Creative Commons licensed photos of animals.
- EduPic Graphical Resource
EduPic Graphical Resource was launched in September 2006 as a source of free images for teachers and their students.
By William Vann.
- Flickr: The Commons
A requirement of contributors to The Commons is that all images are made available without copyright restrictions.
- Free Digital Photos
ALL the images on our website are available free of charge, for business, personal, charitable or educational use. These free images are small sized, but perfect for websites or draft printed work. If you need a larger sized version then they are all available to buy.
- Icon Bug - Free Icons and Clip Art
IconBug.com has some of the hottest icons and clip art images online in an easy to search database that is available online 24/7 for free.
- Imagebase: Free Photos
ImageBase contains more than one hundred pages of images that Mr. Niblack has released for free reuse and redistribution.
By David Niblack.
- Morgue File
This site provides free photos with license to remix. The Morgue File photo collection contains thousands of images that anyone can use for free in academic or commercial presentations.
- Open Clip Art
- Photos 8 : Free Stock Pictures
A great place to find thousands of images that are in the public domain.
- The Noun Project
The Noun Project is an online catalog of free clip art that you can download and reuse for all kinds of projects. The catalog is divided into eleven categories including sports, safety, food, animals, and more. All of the images are either public domain images or Creative Commons licensed images. If the images are public domain you are free to reuse them without attribution without restriction
- Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. (quoted from Wikimedia)
This is an image search engine designed to help bloggers and others quickly find, cite, and use Creative Commons licensed images.
When you search for images using Yahoo's image search tool, you can select filters to refine results to show only images that are licensed under Creative Commons. The filters allow you to select filters for images that can be used for commercial purposes or images that are licensed for remixing and building upon.